May 252017

At the 2015 election, 49 Conservative candidates won seats in which they polled fewer votes than the combined total of Labour, Liberal Democrats, Greens, Scottish Nationalists, Plaid Cymru, and Mebyon Kernow.

This list shows which came closest (Liberal Democrat 19, Labour 29, and SNP 1):

Aberconwy – Labour;

Bath – LD;

Bedford – Labour;

Berwick upon Tweed – LD;

Bolton West – Labour;

Brecon and Radnorshire – LD;

Brighton Kemptown – Labour;

Bristol North West – Labour;

Bury North – Labour;

Calder Valley – Labour;


Camborne and Redruth – Labour;

Canterbury – Labour;

Cardiff North – Labour;

Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South – Labour;

Cheadle – LD;

Cheltenham – LD;

Colchester – LD;

Corby – Labour/Labour Co-op;

Croydon Central – Labour;

Derby North – Labour;


Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale, and Tweeddale – SNP;

Eastbourne – LD;

Gower – Labour;

Hazel Grove – LD;

Kingston and Surbiton – LD;

Lewes – LD;

Lincoln – Labour;

Morley and Outwood – Labour;

Oxford West and Peterborough – LD;

Peterborough – Labour;


Plymouth and Moor View – Labour;

Plymouth Sutton and Devonport – Labour/Labour Co-op;

Portsmouth South – LD;

Reading East – Labour;

St Austell and Newquay – LD;

St Ives – LD;

Southampton Itchen – Labour/Labour Co-op;

Sutton and Cheam – LD;

Telford – Labour;

Thornbury and Yate – LD;


Thurrock – Labour;

Torbay – LD;

Twickenham – LD;

Vale of Clwyd – Labour;

Warrington South – Labour;

Watford – Labour;

Waveney – Labour;

Weaver Vale – Labour;

Yeovil – LD.




[suffusion-the-author display='description']
 Posted by at 18:43

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.